Fountain Favorite John Scalzi Returns!

WATCH THE REPLAY HERE

John is a longtime friend of Fountain so we jumped at the chance to raise a glass to his newest book. This will be in person at Sam Miller's with proof of vaccination required to enter the event - no exceptions! 

About the Author:

JOHN SCALZI is one of the most popular SF authors to emerge in the last decade. His debut, Old Man's War, won him the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. His New York Times bestsellers include The Last Colony, Fuzzy Nation, Redshirts (which won the 2013 Hugo Award for Best Novel), and 2020's The Last Emperox. Material from his blog, Whatever, has earned him two other Hugo Awards. Scalzi also serves as critic-at-large for the Los Angeles Times. For more information, visit www.whatever.scalzi.com or follow him on Twitter, @scalzi.

About the Book: 

New York Times bestselling author John Scalzi returns with a new standalone Sci-Fi adventure of epic proportion, THE KAIJU PRESERVATION SOCIETY. Fans of Godzilla, Jurassic Park, and any creature tale will not want to miss Scalzi’s take on the monsters of unusual size.

 When COVID-19 sweeps through New York City, Jamie Gray is stuck as a dead-end driver for food delivery apps. That is - until Jamie makes a delivery to an old acquaintance, Tom, who works at what he calls “an animal rights organization.” Tom’s team needs a last-minute grunt to handle things on their next field visit. Jamie, eager to do anything, immediately signs on.

What Tom doesn't tell Jamie is that the animals his team cares for are not here on Earth. Not our Earth, at least. In an alternate dimension, massive Kaiju roam a warm and human-free world. They're the universe's largest and most dangerous panda… and they're in trouble. It's not just the Kaiju Preservation Society who have found their way to the alternate world. Others have, too. And their carelessness could cause millions back on our Earth to die.

 With his trademark imagination and wit, John Scalzi turns a pandemic story into not only an addictive escapist adventure but an examination of what it means to survive against all odds. THE KAIJU PRESERVATION SOCIETY is full of relatable and strong characters, fascinating gigantic creatures, and a world so fully realized that readers will be wondering if there really are Kaiju hiding in an alternate dimension under Iceland. 

 

Event date: 

Thursday, March 17, 2022 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Sam Miller's Restaurant
1210 E Cary St
Richmond, VA 23219
Staff Pick Badge
The Kaiju Preservation Society By John Scalzi Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765389121
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Books - March 15th, 2022