Make it a Double with Shelley Sackier!

Enjoy a dram (or two!) of Reservoir’s whiskies, and join Shelley for a mini Nosing & Tasting course and a Copper Conversation about all things Scottish and American pertaining to whiskey, including her new book, Make it a Double. This will be an in-person event at Reservoir Distillery. 

 

About the Book:

Braving the “all boys” clubhouse of the world of whisky has not been easy, but Shelley Sackier has managed to do just that out of her love for the drink. In her new book, Make it a Double: From Wretched to Wondrous: Tales of One Woman’s Lifelong Discovery of Whisky, she offers a witty and immersive look at the history, mythology, science, and magical touch that makes whisky taste like liquid gold.

There has never been a better time for Shelley’s inimitable voice to shed light on the world of whisky. Women are not only impressively contributing to the burgeoning sales of the spirit—making up nearly 40% of the whiskey-drinking population in the United States—but they are also growing in number as they enter into, train within, and lead the industry with their determined creativity and innovation.

By turns funny and poignant, and filled with vivid insight into this rich craft, Make it a Double will make even a teetotaler want a wee dram. In the tradition of Blood, Bones, and Butter, and Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, this fascinating inside look at the world of women in whisky establishes Shelley Sackier as a fresh new voice in the rich world of culinary narrative.

 

About the Author:

After completing a course in Scotland’s Bruichladdich Distillery, Shelley Sackier began writing about—and working within—the world of whisky. Shelley serves as Director of Distillery Education at Reservoir, the third distillery outside of Kentucky making bourbon. For the past twenty-five years she has devoted her efforts toward creating a plainspoken, easygoing, and humorous grasp on the subject to welcome more into this realm. As the Director of Distillery Education at Reservoir Distillery in Virginia, her aim is to distill down this sophisticated spirit one simple sip at a time.  She is also a critically acclaimed author of three YA novels. Visit her website at Shelleysackier.com

Event date: 

Sunday, June 12, 2022 - 2:00pm

Event address: 

Reservoir Distillery
1800A Summit Ave
Richmond, VA 23230
Make it a Double: From Wretched to Wondrous: Tales of One Woman's Lifelong Discovery of Whisky By Shelley Sackier Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781639361793
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Pegasus Books - June 7th, 2022