Michelle Gallen and Silas House

Michelle Gallen on Crowdcast Thursday, 1/14 at 2PM

Silas House interviews debut Irish writer Michelle Gallen!

Books will be shipped after the event.

“[A] sensational debut . . . Gallen’s effortless immersion into a gritty, endlessly bittersweet world packs a dizzying punch.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

About the book:

Majella is happiest out of the spotlight, away from her neighbors’ stares and the gossips of the small town in Northern Ireland where she grew up just after the Troubles. She lives a quiet life caring for her alcoholic mother, working in the local chip shop, watching the regular customers come and go. She wears the same clothes each day (overalls, too small), has the same dinner each night (fish and chips, microwaved at home after her shift ends), and binge-watches old DVDs of the same show (Dallas, best show on TV) from the comfort of her bed.

But underneath Majella’s seemingly ordinary life are the facts that she doesn’t know where her father is and that every person in her town has been changed by the lingering divide between Protestants and Catholics. When Majella’s predictable existence is upended by the death of her granny, she comes to realize there may be more to life than the gossips of Aghybogey, the pub, and the chip shop. In fact, there just may be a whole big world outside her small town.

Told in a highly original voice, with a captivating heroine readers will love and root for, Big Girl, Small Town will appeal to fans of Sally Rooney, Ottessa Moshfegh, and accessible literary fiction with an edge.

About the author:

Michelle Gallen was born in County Tyrone in the mid-1970s and grew up during the Troubles a few miles from the border between what she was told was the "Free" State and the "United" Kingdom. She studied English literature at Trinity College Dublin and won several prestigious prizes as a young writer. Following a devastating brain injury in her midtwenties, she co-founded three award-winning companies and won international recognition for digital innovation. She now lives in Dublin with her husband and kids.

Silas House is the New York Times bestselling author of six novels, one book of creative nonfiction, and three plays. His writing has appeared frequently in the New York Times and has been published in Time, Newsday, Garden & Gun, the Oxford American, and many other places. House is the winner of an E.B. White Award, the Nautilus Award, the Intellectual Freedom Prize from the National Council of Teachers of English, the Storylines Prize from the New York Public Library/NAV Foundation, and many other honors, as well as being longlisted for the Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Fiction. He teaches at Berea College and in the Spalding University School of Writing.

Event date: 

Thursday, January 14, 2021 - 2:00pm

Event address: 

Online on Crowdcast
Staff Pick Badge
Big Girl, Small Town Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781643750897
Availability: Available to Ship From Our Warehouse
Published: Algonquin Books - December 1st, 2020

Southernmost Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616209360
Availability: Available to Ship From Our Warehouse
Published: Algonquin Books - June 4th, 2019

Clay's Quilt Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949467246
Availability: Available to Ship From Our Warehouse
Published: Blair - July 7th, 2020

The Coal Tattoo Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949467260
Availability: Available to Ship From Our Warehouse
Published: Blair - July 7th, 2020

A Parchment of Leaves Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781949467253
Availability: Available to Ship From Our Warehouse
Published: Blair - July 7th, 2020

Eli the Good Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780763652883
Availability: Available to Ship From Our Warehouse
Published: Candlewick - February 8th, 2011

Same Sun Here Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780763664510
Availability: Available to Ship From Our Warehouse
Published: Candlewick - August 6th, 2013

Something's Rising: Appalachians Fighting Mountaintop Removal Cover Image
By Silas House, Jason Howard, Lee Smith (Foreword by)
$19.95
ISBN: 9780813133836
Availability: Available to Ship From Our Warehouse
Published: University Press of Kentucky - January 10th, 2011