Katie

 

Katie is a long time reader, book blogger, book clubber and was once even on the Reading Team in high school (don't know what a Reading Team is?  Go ahead and ask her, because she loves to talk about it!).  She currently helps run the Fountain Bookstore Book Club and the Fountain of Youth Book Club- a book club for adults who love to read Young Adult.  She reads a mix of Young Adult and Adult, and especially loves thrillers, horror and magical realism.  

Books: 

Staff Pick Logo
The Woman in the Window: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062678416
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow - January 2nd, 2018

My first new favorite Thriller of 2018!  Anna Fox has agoraphobia, and is homebound.  Obsessed with old movies, especially of the Hitchcockian variety, and mixing her powerful meds with enough wine to make Cersei Lannister look like a teetotaler, Anna also spies on her neighbors, watching their lives unfold as a way to cope with her own non-life.  She plays online chess, chats with other agoraphobics- doling out great advice that she can’t apply to herself, and chugging wine.

Did I mention the wine drinking?  Because Anna is thirsty, ya’ll.

Anna has gone full on Jimmy Stewart in Rear Window (with a camera not binoculars), and spying on her new neighbors, the Russells, she thinks she sees a crime go down.  But did she?

I really enjoyed the twists and reveals.  Anna was easy to relate to because we spend so much time in her head.  The care she shows for her online community, the reasons for her agoraphobia, her concern for Ethan (the neighbor's son), all of this had me rooting for Anna to, well, first put down the wine glass and brush the snarls from her hair,  and then prove that she wasn’t a raving lunatic (especially to that one cop who was all Judgey McJudgerson- we’re the only ones allowed to judge Anna’s excessive drinking!).  And the fact that Anna references so many great movies is a definite plus in my book.


Staff Pick Logo
Ride on Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781510729933
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sky Pony Press - May 1st, 2018

A post-apocalyptic Young Adult western?  Yes, please!  

Ride On is one of my favorite books this year, and I am in love with both Seph and Avery (and Cade, who might be the coolest literary horse since Misty of Chincoteague).  Set in a future where the sun doesn't shine and outlaws and lawmen both obey their own rules, this is part West World, part Tombstone, and all Amazing!  Westerns aren't even my usual genre, but this one had me questioning why I don't read them more (the answer is I will if Gwen writes more). 


Staff Pick Logo
The Widows of Malabar Hill (A Mystery of 1920s India #1) Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781616957780
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Soho Crime - January 9th, 2018

This one is already destined for my Best Books of 2018 list!  Set in 1917 and 1921 India, this is the first book in the a fictionalized series centered around Perveen Mistry- the first female lawyer in India.  The title refers to three widows who live in seclusion, meaning they have no contact with men.  Perveen first interviews the recent widows because she is concerned that they do not understand a legal request they have made of Mistry Law, however a dead body soon embroils Perveen into a much darker mystery.  Her past is explored as her life becomes fraught with peril in the present.  Loved the setting, loved the characters, and the tense, twisty plot!  We do have some signed copies left over from Sujata Massey's visit to the store (which sadly I missed!) if you'd like to order one. *****


Staff Pick Logo
The Museum of Broken Relationships Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781478970507
Availability: Currently Out of Stock - Available to Ship From Our Warehouse in 3-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - November 14th, 2017

Loved this collection of items left over from past relationships and reading the stories behind the break ups.  Some were sad, some angry, some funny,  but all were interesting.  What items would  you add?


Staff Pick Logo
Warcross Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780399547966
Availability: Currently Out of Stock - Available to Ship From Our Warehouse in 3-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - September 12th, 2017

A YA mashup of Ready Player One and Blade Runner!  Fun, fast paced, with an ending that will make you want to become a hacker and hack into Lu's computer (I am not actually suggesting or condoning this, and thankfully I am way too old and lazy to turn hacker) to read the draft of book 2!  I really enjoyed this book and the narration on the audiobook (available through our Libro.fm account) was fantastic!


Staff Pick Logo
The Wife Between Us: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250130921
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: St. Martin's Press - January 9th, 2018

For fans of Paula Hawkins and Ruth Ware, this thriller is full of excellent twists and sharp turns!  I started off listening to this on audio, but had to switch to a physical copy so that I could devour it.  Pour yourself a glass of wine and settle in for the night as you read the story of recently divorced Vanessa and the young teacher Nellie on the threshold of marriage to the handsome and rich David- the man both Vanessa and Nellie love.  Nothing is at it seems in this book, and no one is to be trusted.  


Staff Pick Logo
See What I Have Done Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780802126597
Availability: Currently Out of Stock - Available to Ship From Our Warehouse in 3-5 Days
Published: Atlantic Monthly Press - August 1st, 2017

Lizzie Borden took an axe... or did she? Sarah Schmidt takes us inside the Borden household before and after the murders of Andrew and Abby Borden. Schmidt's writing is so good that you can feel the pressure building in the house, taste the sweetness of the pears and sharpness of tainted mutton on the tips of tongues, imagine the smell as the hot summer days weighs heavily, suffocatingly on the inhabitants of the Borden home. Did Lizzie simply snap, did Bridget the maid hack her way to new employment, did Lizzie's uncle intervene to protect his nieces, or was it a stranger? Prepare for sharp-edged read!


Staff Pick Logo
The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062382801
Availability: Backordered
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - June 27th, 2017

A cheeky, sexy, adventurous romp!  I ended up listening to this one on audiobook, and I totally recommend it because the narrator really brings Monty to life.  This is one of those YA books that I feel totally comfortable recommending to adults and older teens who don't normally like YA, because it's so much fun and transcends any type of genre.  And Monty is my favorite character of 2017, hands down! 


Staff Pick Logo
These Things I've Done Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062570901
Availability: Currently Out of Stock - Available to Ship From Our Warehouse in 3-5 Days
Published: HarperTeen - August 1st, 2017

I don't know if swoon crying is a thing, but this book had me doing both. I really loved Dara, her strength and fearlessness pre-accident, and the grieving but determined Dara post accident, and watching her slowly piece herself back together was my second favorite thing. My most favorite thing was Ethan, that's where the swooning bit comes in. Totally worth the runny nose and leaking eyes I have after finishing the book!


Staff Pick Logo
The Women in the Castle: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062563675
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 2nd, 2018

For fans of The Nightingale! This is a fascinating and unique look at three very different women in post War Germany. Marianne- Nazi resistor and war widow, is determined to keep her promise to look after the widows and families of her fellow resistors who were executed when their plot against Hitler failed. She takes in first beautiful and lost Benita and her young son Martin, then quiet and strong Ania and her two little boys. The women forge a new life together, their pasts and secrets revealed in flashbacks. Takes an honest look at the Germans who got swept up in Hitler's rhetoric and those who fought to take him down.   


Staff Pick Logo
The Night Circus Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780307744432
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anchor - July 3rd, 2012

Every reader has been asked that impossible question "What's your favorite book?".  I used to dread that question, knowing I would have to pull out charts listing my favorite authors, and narrowing it down to their best books.  Pie charts and math were involved.  Until I read The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern and it finally answered the question of what was my favorite book of all time.  Full of magic and beauty, it makes my heart ache with longing, because it's a world I would love to visit.  If you get the chance, I'd also recommend this one on audio because it's narrated by the talented Jim Dale.