Oona Out of Order: A Novel (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Oona Out of Order: A Novel Cover Image
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews

I love love loved this story! Oona is an unwilling time traveler who wakes up in a different year of her life every January first, 12:01am. With only the notes she leaves herself to go by (plus a little help from her mom), she must navigate being tossed into the middle of situations blind and figure out how to move forward.  This book explores how we change from year to year and minute to minute, and teaches us that what we want is fluid, and that's OK. I cannot recommend this enough.

— From Andi


Oona Out of Order is a remarkably inventive novel that explores what it means to live a life fully in the moment, even if those moments are out of sequence.

Just because life may be out of order, doesn’t mean it’s broken.

It’s New Year’s Eve 1982, and Oona Lockhart has her whole life before her. At the stroke of midnight she will turn nineteen, and the year ahead promises to be one of consequence. Should she go to London to study economics, or remain at home in Brooklyn to pursue her passion for music and be with her boyfriend? As the countdown to the New Year begins, Oona faints and awakens thirty-two years in the future in her fifty-one-year-old body. Greeted by a friendly stranger in a beautiful house she’s told is her own, Oona learns that with each passing year she will leap to another age at random. And so begins Oona Out of Order...

Hopping through decades, pop culture fads, and much-needed stock tips, Oona is still a young woman on the inside but ever changing on the outside. Who will she be next year? Philanthropist? Club Kid? World traveler? Wife to a man she’s never met?

Surprising, magical, and heart-wrenching, Margarita Montimore has crafted an unforgettable story about the burdens of time, the endurance of love, and the power of family.

"Reminiscent of Liane Moriarty’s What Alice Forgot and Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life, Oona Out of Order is a delightfully freewheeling romp.” —Booklist (starred review)

About the Author

After receiving a BFA in Creative Writing from Emerson College, Margarita Montimore worked for over a decade in publishing and social media before deciding to focus on the writing dream full-time. The author of Asleep from Day and Oona Out of Order, she lives in New Jersey with her husband and dog.

Praise For…

A Most Anticipated Book (Parade, Huffington Post, Book Riot, PopSugar)

Goodreads Staffers' Top Three Books of the Year

Oona Out of Order is beautiful and heartbreaking, a novel about the nature of time and how life marches on, that you simply must read.”

"Looking for a lighthearted read? Maybe something that will remind you all to live your best life? ...A charming, quirky story about aging and self-discovery."
—Book Riot

“A smart, funny, time-hopping journey around the last four decades…Montimore’s meditation on what always changes and what never will sparkles with hope and heart, perfect for readers who love a quirky, thought-provoking tale.”
—Shelf Awareness

“Witty, humorous, heartwarming. Imbued with musical and cultural influences spanning decades and reminiscent of Liane Moriarty’s What Alice Forgot and Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life, Oona Out of Order is a delightfully freewheeling romp.”
—Booklist (starred review)

“A compelling page-turner…Montimore delivers a rock-and-roll love letter to 1980s–90s New York City as Oona discovers her true self through a lifetime of music and pop culture. A perfect match for those who enjoy well-developed characters with a twist.”
Library Journal (starred review)

“A heartfelt novel that celebrates its implausibility with a unique joie de vivre.”
Kirkus Reviews

"Margarita Montimore has written a dazzling novel. This madcap opera, the story of Oona Lockhart's life told in full with scope and breadth in and out of sequence but never out of tune, is the perfect read for this moment. Modern, emotional, funny, ferocious, and spun with enough light and magic to fire up the Vegas strip, Oona Out of Order lands like a meteor."
—Adriana Trigiani, author Tony's Wife

"A fascinating and beautifully crafted tale which explores identity and relationships in one woman’s unpredictable and radically-changing world. Unputdownable and uplifting, what Montimore has penned is a treasure that will remind you of the importance of living life fully in the present."
Kim Michele Richardson, author of The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

Oona Out of Order is haunting—a fascinating, sometimes heart-wrenching exploration of life lived moment-to-moment.”
Emily Colin, author of The Memory Thief

Product Details
ISBN: 9781250236609
ISBN-10: 1250236606
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: February 25th, 2020
Pages: 352