Andi's Picks 2019

Andi escaped the corporate world and found her dream job of selling/talking about/being around books all day. She's born and raised in RVA and reads most anything, with particular favorites being chick lit, mysteries, YA, and most any contemporary fiction. When she's not reading she can be found relaxing with her husband, her cats, and a nice cold beer in her speakeasy home.

Andi has easily out-read the rest of the staff running reading circles around all of us with her super speed-reading powers.  It's astonishing, really.  

 

In no particular order.....

Staff Pick Badge
Those People Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780451489142
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - June 11th, 2019

This is like Liane Moriarty set in England and I love it. The neighbors on Lowland Way are a tight-knit community with their routine set and agreed upon, and they all live (mostly) harmoniously together. All that changes when Darren and Jodie move into Darren's late aunt's home. They disrupt the idyllic street with unsightly renovations, loud late night music, and a garage business on the premises. The neighbors can't make them stop by legal means so someone takes matters into their own hands early one weekend morning. Everyone is suspect as the police investigate and the clues come at you fast and furious. This mystery reads really quickly and kept me entertained on each page. I couldn't wait to find out who did it and how.


Staff Pick Badge
Never Have I Ever: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062855312
Availability: Currently Out of Stock - Available to Ship From Our Warehouse in 3-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - July 30th, 2019

WOW. I love a twistery (twisty mystery!) and pride myself on figuring out at least some of the plot before the end. This one had me fooled the whole way!   Amy, our main character has settled into a peaceful life and left her sordid past behind her. She's happy with her family and friends until Roux shows up at her book club meeting and threatens her charmed life. I won't give away any more because this one is too good to spoil. I had the pleasure of meeting Jackson at a conference recently and I feel super lucky to have gotten in on the ground floor with this amazing story.


Staff Pick Badge
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492678892
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - August 6th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
What She Lost Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781947976153
Availability: Currently Out of Stock - Available to Ship From Our Warehouse in 3-5 Days
Published: Cennan Books of Cynren Press - October 8th, 2019

For readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz and In Another Time, What She Lost tells the story of Sarah Waldman, a young Polish Jew who loses her sister very early in life. The family's hardships get worse from there as Hitler comes to power and her family's safety vanishes. This is part memoir and part fiction, seamlessly woven together in a heartrending story of Sarah's journey from the ghetto to the concentration camps and what she must do to survive. Unlike a lot of holocaust stories, it puts a heavier focus on what happened after the war and how the released men and women must fight to survive and build a new place in an unfamiliar world. Sarah's story will stay with you for a long time after you put the book down.


Staff Pick Badge
No Walls and the Recurring Dream: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780735225176
Availability: Currently Out of Stock - Available to Ship From Our Warehouse in 3-5 Days
Published: Viking - May 7th, 2019

I wish I could rate this higher than a 10/10. I am a longtime, unabashed DiFranco fan and have been looking forward to this book for a while. It covers her life up to the early 2000s and gives more background information than I've been able to find before (since it's straight from the horse's mouth) and I reveled in the stories from her early life and early career.  Her words are beautiful and I loved the additions of song lyrics and her poetry that were interspersed in the story. I could go on and on about this book, I loved it so much, and now all I want to do is hole up and listen to her music for days. 


Staff Pick Badge
Sugar Run: A Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781616209810
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books - October 8th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
The Turn of the Key Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501188787
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Gallery/Scout Press - May 12th, 2020

Ruth Ware is a master of the twisty mystery and I can't get enough of her books. In Key, Rowan cheats her way into the job of nanny to the young daughters at Heatherbrae House, a high-tech wonder hidden deep in the countryside. The Smart Home seems to offer every modern convenience you'd ever need but as she becomes more familiar with the home and family, she finds their deep, dark secrets. Sleepless nights are spent wondering what's going on behind hidden doors and in creepy attics, and uncover Rowan's own secrets. Will she be able to save the girls from the dark forces at work? Read and find out!


Staff Pick Badge
Life Will Be the Death of Me: . . . and you too! Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780525511779
Availability: Currently Out of Stock - Available to Ship From Our Warehouse in 3-5 Days
Published: Spiegel & Grau - April 9th, 2019

Staff Pick Badge
The Passengers Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984806970
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - August 27th, 2019

Yikes, y'all. This is a gripping suspenseful tale of what happens when autonomous cars go wrong. Eight people are in transit to various places when their routes get canceled and a strange voice announces that they have a little less than 3 hours to live. There is a jury of their peers set to choose who lives and who dies (and in what order) and this is just as grisly as you'd expect. As we get to know each passenger, we learn that each has dark secrets and the jury is left to learn their secrets and decide who merits saving. Don't read this if you have somewhere to be, you won't want to put it down!


Staff Pick Badge
Heroine Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062847195
Availability: Currently Out of Stock - Available to Ship From Our Warehouse in 3-5 Days
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - March 12th, 2019

Mickey is a teen athlete and a star on her softball team when she and her best friend get in a car accident that changes their lives. Mickey is able to justify her use of painkillers to mask the pain of her recovering injuries but that use quickly turns to abuse as she uses the drugs for the painful shyness she also deal with. As the prescribed pills get harder to get, she turns to the fast, easy, and dangerous high of the needle. Her old friends drift away and she's surrounded with a new circle who help her descent into addiction. This story is a powerful illustration of how easy it is to go from proper prescribed use of meds to the dangerous abuse of street drugs. This heartbreaking tale will stick with you long after the book is done.